Sara (Miller) Urquidez

Sara Urquidez’s passion for college access led her to the Academic Success Program (ASP), which works with students, parents, teachers, counselors, administrators, and college admissions officers to ensure that students from all backgrounds in Dallas-Fort Worth can access a college education. She first started at ASP as a volunteer helping students edit essays and develop community service projects, and eventually became ASP’s Executive Director. She has expanded the ASP network from 3 high schools in the Dallas Independent School District to 18 schools throughout the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex, serving more than 16,000 students.

Sara also served as the college adviser for Hillcrest High School in North Dallas. Thanks to her efforts, Hillcrest students earned more than $6 million in scholarships within 6 months, including the prestigious Gates Millennium Scholarship. Sara’s students were successfully admitted to UChicago, Harvard, the University of Pennsylvania, Dartmouth, Duke, Columbia, Rice, Stanford, and many other universities.
Sara advocates for students throughout the country by participating in multiple professional associations and scholarship committees. She serves on counselor advisory boards for both the Common Application and the Coalition for Access, Affordability, and Success, as well as the counselor boards of CalTech and the University of Pennsylvania. She has also presented on college admissions and access issues for the National Association of College Admissions Counseling, the National College Access Network, College Board Forum, AP National Conference, and the Texas Association of College Admissions Counseling.

smiller@aspdallas.org
chines@aspdallas.org

Crystal Hines

smorgan@aspdallas.org

Sara Morgan

khernandez@aspdallas.org

Karina Hernandez

dfields@aspdallas.org

Demetrius Fields

zdemissie@aspdallas.org

Zeni Demissie

arobinson@aspdallas.org

Alexandra Robinson

jkirkham@aspdallas.org

Jordie Kirkham

jpowers@aspdallas.org

Jocelyn Powers

asabin@aspdallas.org

Alex Sabin

chines@aspdallas.org

Twenewaa Adu-Oppong

lkliman@aspdallas.org

Larisa Kilman

rdiaz@aspdallas.org

Rocio Diaz

tshipley@aspdallas.org

Theo Shipley

mburns@aspdallas.org

Myia Burns

cbrown@aspdallas.org

Chanel Brown
AmeriCorps VISTA

jblake@aspdallas.org

Jannice Blake
AmeriCorps VISTA